Search

.com Forum · Beginner Forum

Replies in this thread : 11

Author Topic : Total Newbie Questions
 Landreth Kennels
Premium Member

System.__ComObject
5/16/2024 10:03:48 AM reply with quote send message to Landreth Kennels Object to Post   

Hi Everyone:

I just joined and I am trying to figure out a couple of things. I really don't know anything and don't want to get a dog yet until I can find the answers to the questions below.

I would like to use starter dogs, I know dumb idea, and go mostly into obedience for now until I can get some good results with my bottom dwelling little darlins happy happy :)

1.) Do I need to start them off with high quality food? (original adults)
2.) Once I have my first litter or two, should I go find me a good stud and outcross the starter pups and then be able to use their offsprings to breed back to the 2nd gen starters?
3.) What can I do with the excess I don't want anymore and if I have to put them into the retirement couch am I still needing to feed them.
4.) Since Obedience doesn't require perfect specimens, is it possible to be able to win the titles once the pups are old enough?
5.) The 5 sessions I have now as a basic..is that for each dog or just for the whole pile.

Thanks
 Comet Poodles
Premium Member

Premium Member
5/16/2024 2:14:55 PM reply with quote send message to Comet Poodles Object to Post

Welcome!

I can't answer obedience or source breeding questions but I can help answer some.

1) If you aren't showing males, no. However, if you are breeding bitches, I recommend a high quality food, especially for high condition, as poorly conditioned bitches will pass their poor condition on to their puppies.

If you are showing at all, you want your dogs to be on a high quality food to improve and maintain their condition, muscle tone, and coat condition.

3) You can retire them but you can also "Forever Home" the dogs you don't wish to keep. More about that here:

https://www.showdog.com/help/topic.aspx?id=44